jump to navigation

Libraries and Librarians Change Lives August 9, 2006

Posted by sharynheili in Uncategorized.
trackback

Let’s work. Let’s play. Let’s learn together.  Let’s catch up with the Web 2.0 world if we need to.  Our library customers need us to help them understand and translate the Internet for them.  We can demonstrate easier ways of doing things with the new technology to decrease their frustration and make their lives easier.  We need to be their experts.

Ah yes.  Libraries do Change Lives.  I wouldn’t be a librarian if I didn’t believe that.  Every time I see one of my former students from the library’s computer classes zipping along on the Internet, I smile, because I remember what a struggle it was for them at their first class trying to click a mouse.  They almost gave up, but with encouragement and help they persevered.  Now when they come into the library, they smile and wave, and say “Hi Teach”.  It’s then, and at other moments, I think that this is the greatest profession I could have ever chosen.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

